Chris Bunton 2018 NSW Sport Athlete of Year Nomination

Special Olympics Australia’s Chris Bunton announced as Sport NSW 2018 Awards Finalists

Christopher Bunton has been announced as a 2018 finalist in Sport NSW’s Awards. Chris is a finalist in the category of Athlete of the Year with a Disability

Chris’ nomination comes from his chosen sport of gymnastics and follows a record number of nominations for the prestigious sporting accolades.

The very humble Chris is a Special Olympics Australia athlete with Flinders Club. He manages training with a broad portfolio of work and interests, which includes study, acting, advocacy for people with intellectual disability and part-time work as a Communications Assistant in Special Olympics Australia Head Office. 

“What an honour to be nominated. It is great to get to the finalist list. I already feel like a winner, just being nominated. It is an awesome feeling. This is my third time to be nominated for Athlete of the Year with a Disability, so hopefully its third time lucky,” Chris said

Special Olympics Australia Chief Executive Officer, Corene Strauss heaped praise on Chris following his nomination. 

“We are so proud to know Chris and have him as part of our team in Special Olympics Australia. Chris’ dedication to his sport is demonstrated by his personal achievements as an athlete, but also by his commitment to mentoring and coaching others in the Special Olympics and intellectual disability community. 

“Every day, Chris shows that we can live with joy and relentless enthusiasm in all aspects of our life. We are tremendously proud of his nomination and wish him all the very best for the awards ceremony, Corene Strauss said.

The winners of the NSW Sports Awards will be announced at the 2018 NSW Champions of Sport Ceremony, alongside the induction of five icons of NSW sport into the NSW Hall of Champions. The ceremony will be held on Tuesday, 27 November at Rosehill Racecourse. 

The athletes in contention for NSW Athlete of the Year with a Disability are:
Christopher Bunton (Gymnastics), Madison de Rozario (Wheelchair Track and Field), Kurt Fearnley AO (Wheelchair Track and Field), Erik Horrie (Rowing), Matthew Levy OAM (Swimming), Barney Miller (Surfing), and Lauren Parker (Triathlon).